The Baboon

Baboons are located in Africa and Arabia. There are five species and six subspecies of Baboon including the Chacma Baboon, Kinda Baboon, Hamadryas Baboon, Guinea Baboon, Olive Baboon and the Yellow Baboon.  The Guinea Baboon is the most threatened of all species of Baboons. Baboons can vary in appearance depending on the species.

The average lifespan of a Baboon in the wild is 30 years, though they can live up to 40 years of age. Baboons can weigh anywhere from 20 to 80 pounds depending on the species. Baboons are considered omnivorous. Their diet consists of grass, roots, seeds, bark and even meat. Baboons have been known to eat birds and rodents and at times even larger animals such as antelope and sheep. Baboons have a gestation period of around 6 months. 

The biggest threat to Baboons is humans. Humans consider Baboons to be a nuisance and thus they are often poisoned. Habitat loss due to agricultural expansion is another threat Baboons face. By utilizing  more sustainable agricultural practice we can lessen habitat loss which can help ensure the survival of Baboons. 

There are many ways to get involved in primate conservation. You can raise awareness by sharing this article, you can donate  to a reputable wildlife conservation society and you can ensure the items you purchase are sustainably sourced.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: